Temperate Forest

It was a temperate forest in the cold of winter without snow. The vegetation was diverse. There was a mix of trees with leaves and pine needles on the ground. The ground cover was mostly dead. It had retreated with the onset of cold weather.

I was cold, but not affected. I was skirting through the trees aware of a malevolent presence. Moving up and down the hills I was making toward an unknown objective. I was searching.

I found something when I discovered a machine nestled in a re-entrant. The cavity in the ground hid the vehicle from the sides. It also made for an easy means of access.

I could hear voices coming, so I jumped. It was a stretch, but I landed with minimal grace. Everyone else was only now arriving.

I was atop the metal hull. Metal panels gave the vehicle an angular form. I pressed my body down on the top so none from below could see me.

They hustled into their machine. They were preparing for departure. I could hear their voices as they talked about today’s adventure.

The machine warmed up and it was nice as I pressed against it, but a short lived relief as I worried about its reconfiguration. The panel I clutched to moved to accommodate change. The transformation started when the vehicle lifted off the ground. Panels on the side slid down and away to reveal windows for the bridge. Panels in the back revealed engines used to force the hulk through the air. Panels slid down to enclose the loading bay nestled in the bottom.

I braced myself to prepare for the impending acceleration.

About jminto

Jason A. Minto is an Manager at Octo Consulting. He also publishes the webcomic Dropped Packets. Dropped Packets is a serial webcomic that documents that travails of Reg and Jack as they deal with Information Assurance in the workplace.
This entry was posted in Fiction and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

